January Notes

I have felt really uncreative lately, but I figured I should spend a few moments to catch you all up.  I did finally knit the toe on that sock, and I have worn them a few times.  I have knitted most of the Christmas gift, but I need to go back and finish it.  Somehow, once Christmas passed and it wasn’t completed, I didn’t have the heart to go on.  But I refuse to have this gift just sit here and make me feel guilty about not presenting it.  A gift that I wanted to give to another friend was stolen off the porch and now I need to come up with a replacement.  Here we are, half-way through January, and I’m still worried about Christmas.

The 40 bulbs I ordered went into the ground early in December.  Hopefully they are making roots and getting ready to bloom in the spring.  I am eager to see how they look where they were planted.  I wanted to add some hyacinth, grape hyacinth, gladiolus, and crocus to the beds, but now I need to wait until I can see where the new plants come up since I didn’t mark where they are exactly.  I have a vague idea, but I don’t want to chance it.

We got new music for ensemble last week.  It seems easier than the last session.  I feel like I let the group down with my playing.  Sometimes I wonder if it’s all worth it.  The music always seems easy to play at home, but then I muck it all up when it’s time to rehearse or go to a lesson.

I have new music in lessons too.  In fact, it’s not even from the Suzuki repertoire, which is nice.  We have been noodling around with the same concerto for forever.  I was assigned something out of Barbara Barber’s Solos book recently, which has been going OK, but I never thought I would get to the point where I would get t o do anything else.  I’m such a slow learner.  As much as I love having my children play their own instruments, making time to help them with their lessons has really taken a bite out of mine.  I feel like I’m hanging on in Limbo – just maintaining and not improving.

My teacher can tell I’m stagnating, I think.  He suggested a few camps so I will be attending a chamber-music camp in March and a Scottish fiddle camp in July.  It’s a terrifying idea, but the trips are paid for and there’s no backing out now.  I even have my vacation days from work approved.  So, I’m going, and if I make a rotten spectacle of myself it will only be my own fault.

Well, I’m off to help my son practice his viola.  He’s playing for jurors in the spring festival.  He’s terrified, but I know he will do well.

One thought on “January Notes

  1. You will not make a rotten spectacle of yourself. Go. Learn everything you can. Play to your best ability at this time. And enjoy where you are and where you are going … not abuse yourself about not being there just yet. I think it is great that you are expanding your experiences like that. Even if that is not where you end up wanting to go with your playing in the long run, you will draw so much from the experiences you will gain. 🙂

    P.S. I hope your bulbs bloom prolifically for you!

Leave a Reply

