And the Beat Goes on (despite me)

Saturday was my third performance with the string ensemble I play with.  Nobody died.  In fact, except for four consecutive measures in one piece where everyone kind of faltered, it was pretty good.  Of course we had ringers in both the cello and violin sections, so that helped.

I don’t feel terrible about the performance, and I don’t feel great about it.  We could have done better, but we have certainly done far worse.  The two things that stuck out for me was when my stand partner, two rehearsals out from the performance, suggested I not try to play all the notes in a fast 32nd note section (because I was really bombing on it); and when the lady to my right suggested I sit in the end seat because she thought I was good.  I think it was because she felt too exposed on the end though, so I’m not sure how I feel about it.

So I sort of received one compliment and one piece of advice aimed at making sure I don’t screw up the section.  All I know, is I have a long way to go.  I need to spend some serious time with the metronome.

My family came to see me, along with a coworker and her husband, and my sister, who brought me flowers.  It was nice of them to take the time out to come.  Plus, flowers – yay!

Leave a Reply

