Weekend Update

We had a lovely autumn weekend here in central VA.  The last two days have been crisp, and we had our first frost last night.  The house is a bit chilly, but the fireplace keeps us warm downstairs and upstairs we just pile on the blankets.  I hate to turn on the heat until November.  Just two more weeks!  In the meantime, I’m getting good use out of the hipster flannel shirt I got in Seattle.

Last night a friend hosted a knitting  gathering and I met some lovely people.  I got the second sock of a pair I started in 2009 finished all the way to the toe decrease.  Just another hour or so and I’ll be finished with it.  It has been so long since I finished a knitting project!  Finally – I will have freed up a set of sock needles.  There’s a few more unfinished projects that would take a short time to complete.  Maybe after I kitchener that sock, I’ll pick one of them up.  No new projects until I get rid of some of the old ones!

We are getting a bit better about meal planning the last couple of weeks.  I have been trying to go to the grocery store once a week.  We had gotten into a terrible habit of going every time we ran out of something and some weeks we ended up going to the store daily.  It is my hope that if I go regularly, it will be less of an ordeal.  That first big trip was an expensive one because we were out of everything!  This week’s trip wasn’t as painful.   The only hard part is figuring out what we will eat all week so we buy the right stuff.

Leave a Reply

