Green Things and Violin Strings

The garden continues to mostly thrive.  The peas are growing especially well, and taste delightful.  Next year I will have to plant more because I’m eating them before they make it into the house.  The beans and cucumbers are only now starting to take off.  I’m trying to decide if I want to replant the harvested squares with something or just let them go until autumn.  Everything will need a nice thick application of compost as the current mixture appears to be too off balance for certain crops.

 

The boys are wrapping up their school years.  It has certainly been an off year for them both.  Hopefully next year they will find their respective niches.  I don’t remember having nearly as much school-related drama at their ages, but I don’t always remember stuff.  It’s times like these when I wish mom were still with us.  Of course she might not have remembered either because during those years things were pretty rough at home.  Probably the same reason my memory is for shit.

 

I am finally getting some traction in Suzuki book 4.  It appears as if my issues with playing the Seitz concertos may be partially related to my violin’s setup because I can play them just fine on my cheapo camping violin.  Anneliese is due a trip to our friendly luthier to check the tailgut length and bridge & nut height.  I recently gave up my Russian A string in favor of a synthetic core string, which helped a little bit with traction, but there is still some difficulty with higher positions and transitions between the A and E strings indicating that the string height and after length might be off.  My luthier is great.  He’ll know what to do – even if that means telling me I’m full of crap.  LOL!

 

Speaking of strings, I’m still experimenting.  Dominants went off for me in only 4 months and I don’t like their metallic ringing.  Vintage Brilliants sounded wonderful, but my teacher felt they were too loud.  Ametysts are only OK, but my teacher likes them.  My next set will probably be Ambers, and if I don’t like those, I’m not sure which direction to go. There’s Evah Pirazzis, and Passiones, or Obligatos, which are all on the pricey end of the spectrum.  The camping violin has Obligatos, but they are mainly on there to dull the unpleasant overtones of that particular instrument.  Anneliese has a very pleasant warm and sparkling richness that just isn’t responding well to any of the strings I was disposed to like.  Please don’t let my violin prefer Passiones!  I don’t think I could afford them as often as I need to do a string change.

 

Last week, my instructor let me know there will be a group recital this weekend and asked if I wanted to play a solo from one of the earlier books.  I’m unsure whether I will.  On the one hand, I think I need the experience.  On the other hand, one week isn’t long enough in my mind to drag something back up to performance level.  It’s a two-edged blade.  I rarely get the opportunity to play with and for others.  However, because I don’t have those built-in performance opportunities that the children take for granted, I am insecure about the few times that do offer one.  Plus, the recital is made up of children, with the audience made up of their parents.  It seems as if I’m taking the spotlight away from them.  My addition feels like an unwelcome afterthought.  I’m certain it’s not, but that’s how my mind works.

One thought on “Green Things and Violin Strings

  1. My violin has big projection and sounded excellent with the Evah’s on it. I hesitated to put Obligatos on it as I thought it would take away from the sound I love from it – but it has turned out to be a happy pairing. Both are pricey strings but honestly replacing less expensive strings often because we are still searching for good sound is expensive too. I hope your luthier is able to set your violin to rights. I know my starter violin is much easier to play double stops on – has to do with the bridge being a little lower and little flatter than my main violin.

    Glad your garden is growing well. I was late getting my sugar snap peas in this year and they are just now getting ready to start flowering and producing and I cannot wait! You can never plant enough of those – trust me on this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

