17 Day Diet, Day 2

Several years ago I tried the 17 Day Diet.  I managed to get through the first 14 days, and lost 11 pounds.  Having recently reached my highest non-pregnancy weight, I knew I had to do something.  I also know that this diet plan works for me, so here I am on day 2 of the first 17 day cycle.

For those who are unfamiliar with the book, there are four cycles of 17 days each.  The first lets you eat lots of lean meat, unlimited amounts of certain vegetables, low fat cheese, yogurt, and some fruits.  In the morning, one is supposed to drink a glass of hot water with half a lemon squeezed in.  Green tea should be drunk with each meal, and a total of 64 oz. water drunk each day.  Those of us with a caffeine addiction can have black coffee or a diet soda but they don’t count towards water intake.  The second cycle alternates that combo with the addition of limited carbohydrates every other day.  I’m not sure how the other two cycles work, because I’ve never made it that far.

Day one went really well, only I got really hungry late last night and had an apple.  Fruits aren’t to be eaten after 2pm so that was a no-no.  Even with that late night snack, I was about 200 calories below my goal.  Trust me, you have to eat a lot of food to get the expected number of calories when the food is so much less full of fat and carbs.  Right now, I am full to bursting and haven’t even had half my calories for the day. I feel like all I have done is eat.  How I am ever going to get enough food in me, I’ll never know.

On the other hand, I’m definitely not hungry, the food I am eating fits the definition of clean eating, and I feel great.  I expected to feel tired and cranky, but I don’t.  I have lots of energy and feel fantastic!  My system just really seems to prefer salads to sandwiches.  I’m going to get really tired of eating salads in two weeks, but for now, it’s a bit of a novelty.  To say that my food had gotten really out of hand is an understatement.

A normal day of eating for me up to this point might have included a bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich for breakfast, tuna on rye with chips for lunch, and pizza for dinner.  Then there might be some cookies or ice cream as a treat.  See a common theme there?  Every meal featured carbs.  No wonder I have been so tired!  Aside from the occasional pickle, or onion, there’s been nary a vegetable in my life for a long time.  Just in the last two days I have eaten more fruit and vegetables than I have in a month. 

The charts and whatnot say that I am 50 pounds overweight.  Honestly, I will be happy with a total loss of half that.  A 25 pound loss will put me in a normal BMI range.  Today, my BMI is 29.4, which is 0.6 away from what is considered obese.  I know that I’m fat, but would never have considered myself to be obese.  As an aside, I would have to lose 63 pounds to weigh what I did in my early 20’s, just as a comparison for those who have known me that long.

 

Leave a Reply

