Spring is A-Sprungen!

It’s time!  It’s finally time to put the cool weather crops in the ground.  They have forecast no more temps below freezing, though we are still nearly two weeks out from the last frost date.  Tomorrow, my square foot garden grid is supposed to arrive.  (Thank you, UPS tracking!)  After work, I’m looking forward to planting the peas, cabbage, lettuce, carrots, radishes, calendula, and onions.  What – me, excited?  Hells yeah, I’m excited!

Remind me how exciting this was when July rolls around and everything is frying in the southern summer sauna.

It’s a bit nerve wracking putting in a garden this year.  I’ve only done it twice before, and the results of both times were, shall we say, less than stellar.  For some reason, I’m good with flowers, but terrible with edibles.  Moe, on the other hand, resurrected a straight up dead tomato plant last year.  Dead, I’m telling you.  It was a brown stick.  There is no justice in this world.

There are a ton of other garden projects swirling around in my spring-crazed brain right now.  There’s a semi-solid plan to put in plantings around the mail box.  I need to come up with some sort of island around the big green electrical box in the front yard.  There’s also all the plants mom saved from her yard to plant at her new house.  If I can save the lilac tree and the irises, I will be thrilled.

Mom’s new house has been finished, by the way.  The builder is showing it as a furnished model.  At some point, I will likely go into it to see how it looks.  Although I won’t be able to help her put in her garden, at least I won’t have to mow the yard.  There’s that going for it.

Leave a Reply

