And so it begins…..

The garden grid arrived today.  I put it together after work, only to find that my 4×4 garden is slightly lacking in full measure.  No matter, I just moved things around a little bit. 

After squidging things up a bit (yes, I made up that word), and rewriting my little plan on the fly, I successfully put in the seeds for cucumber, pole beans, sugar snap peas, calendula, carrots, zinnia, lettuce, radishes, and nasturtium.  The cabbage went in also, as did two squares of onions.  There are three squares left which will house spinach, bell pepper, and more radishes in about two weeks.  The spinach and bell pepper will be purchased at the nursery.

Here it is in all its glory!


Of course, I’m left with at least twenty onions to plant and the thought crossed my mind that two squares might be more fun than just one.  Then I could plant more veggies and some flowers for cutting and bringing into the house.  The lazy part of my brain is all “why don’t you just plant the onions in, you know, the GROUND?  Because that would be thrifty and a cool science-y kind of experiment.  It would be all “What grows better-onions in the soft, special soil, or onions in the silt/clay mix that passes for topsoil around here?”

Then I’d want to pave the space between the squares, and eventually expand again. And there’s still a trellis to build.  Plus all the plants that I want to plant in the yard and around the mail box have to be done soon before it gets to be stupid hot.

Once again, my ambition is getting too large for my giddyup.  Story of my life.

Anyway, I eagerly await the first seedlings.  What is going to sprout first, I wonder?  Only time will tell.  Time is an asshole.

2 thoughts on “And so it begins…..

  1. We haven’t put our garden in for the year yet. We’re still planning but need to get on that soon. We used raised beds by the same manufacturer in our garden and I was really pleased with how well they held up. I hope you enjoy yours as much as we have ours.

  2. I’m glad to hear that your raised beds held up. We can’t seem to find the single 4×4’s by the same manufacturer any more, so I will need to get one that doesn’t match from Lowes. At least then I can compare how the regular and manufactured wood beds hold up. Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

