A Rant Against Pinkwashing

Last night I was at VA Blood Services doing my regular leaking blood into a bag thing.  When I was all done and the phlebotomist was getting ready to tape up my arm, she asked me what color tape I wanted.  After asking for and getting the options, I chose red.  I like red.  Red is pretty, and it went with my outfit for the day.  Instead, she picked up the pink tape and tried to convince me to change my mind with a cheery “But it’s breast cancer month!”. 

Although she seemed a bit put off when I insisted on red, we moved on to more interesting subjects, such as zombies, and which were our favorite zombie movies.  But I still feel a bit annoyed.  I don’t really need any more “Awareness” pushed at me.  I am plenty aware of breast cancer month.  How can we not be when even Pro football players are sporting pink shoes these days?  I can’t even get a bottle of water without dodging a gamut of pink ribbons on every conceivable product.

I’ve got breasts.  I have known people with breast cancer.  I have had it touch my life in a personal way.  Trust me, I’m fully aware of the issue.  Please stop asking me for money to support research.  Did you know that many of the companies profiting from pinkwashing are not donating a cent to research?  Look it up.  You might be surprised how few of your donated dollars are getting utilized for cancer prevention and cures. 

My advice is to donate directly to the foundation you want to have your money, and forget about all this feel-good, gimicky advertising hype.  And take care of your breasts, which (by the way) means taking care of you.  Quit messing with pink.  Pink was a perfectly good color until this stupid ribbon nonsense got hold of it.

2 thoughts on “A Rant Against Pinkwashing

  1. Amen! I totally agree with you. Every John, Dick and Harry now has a ribbon, anything happen they make a ribbon.

    As you I’m tired of it. Thank you for putting this out there

  2. The Pink ribbon campaign is frequently used in cause-related marketing , a cooperation between non-profits and businesses to promote a product that also supports a cause. Because the pink ribbon is not licensed by any corporation, it is more open to being abused by businesses that donate little or none of their revenue to breast cancer research. While companies such as Estée Lauder have distributed over 70 million pink ribbons, and donated over $25 million to breast cancer research, other companies have been discovered using the pink ribbon inappropriately—either by not donating their profits, or by using the pink ribbon on products that include ingredients which cause cancer.

Leave a Reply

