Fashion Rant

I have been bemoaning the lack of appropriate clothing for ladies my age.  My favorite dress, which I am wearing today, is an orange printed muslin.  It’s a simple seamed A-line with pockets (hooray!) and extra fullness in the skirt.  I love it, except for the lack of coverage up top.  The dress has thin straps and a low neckline.  It wouldn’t look out of place except for the fact that I’m really just too busty for it.  If I were younger, I wouldn’t mind so much; but I’m a middle-aged wife and a mother.  Having that much cleavage on display feels a bit outrageous.

 It is little things like that which add up to big deficiencies in my book.  Why can’t I have a cute dress with more coverage?  Sure, I can layer it with a sweater, and a cami, but it’s not really the same.  Save me from boring sportswear!  Can’t we be cute, and classy?  Must it all be either shapeless, or severely cut, and only made in basic colors?

 A couple of months ago I went to Saks to try on a few evening gowns.  Not that there’s any need in my life for one, but it’s fun so why not, right?  Sadly, the things I liked were simply too precious-cutey-pie, or too daring for me to wear.  Again, it appears that I am relegated to boring “mother of the bride” style gowns based on my more “mature” (ahem-fluffy) figure.  I might be older than I used to be, but I still want to feel like a princess when donning a formal gown.

I’m generally comfortable in my skin.  These scars and wrinkles came from living life.  Clothes can be designed to be flattering, modest, and cute.  I don’t want to look like I’ve been playing some teenager’s closet.  So please, fashion industry, consider making cute clothes with more conservative necklines, and sleeves so that we can stop either getting bored to tears, or tipping the scales to the oh so unattractive teeny-bopper-with-wrinkles look.  If it isn’t too much to ask, I’d like them to be affordable too.  I love Carolina Herrera, but I will never have $2k to spend on a day dress.  Realistic options for realistic bodies, if you please.

 And ladies, if you are over 40, please stop shopping in the Junior section.  You might still be able to wear a skin-tight, strapless mini dress; but you are totally not rocking it.  Just stop.  I’m begging you.  I’m not saying you have to give up and get the sad, frumpy T-shirts with crazy embellishments on the neck and a seasonal vest, but accept who you are now.  Don’t try to pretend you are still 17.

 Surely I’m not the only voice out there.  You would think following the baby boomers wouldn’t be so hard.  Shouldn’t somebody have figured this out by now?  Or is being fashionable just another anachronism?  There’s no way I can be the only woman who doesn’t want to live in yoga pants and flip-flops.

2 thoughts on “Fashion Rant

  1. You are not the only voice. I have been bemoaning the lack of non frumpy, non hoochy clothes since I turned 30. I also happen to know that you are a talented seamstress and designer, and I love your taste. I would totally buy your designs. Maybe what the fashion industry needs is a new vision. 🙂

  2. Julie, that is so sweet of you to say. I wish I had the talent and dedication to go back to designing, but I don’t miss doing it at all. If I did, though, at least I know there’s a receptive target market out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

