The Naming Convention

I like to name things, as you know  (see this post:  https://isenglass.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/the-yorktown-room” ).  We named our pavilion at Pennsic.  It’s old, and once belonged to a friend of ours.  We used it for years as a barracks tent.  It’s faded, stained, has a hole in the roof (with a funny story, no less), and smells like stale cigarette smoke and wet leaf mould.  Its new name is Castle Funky Fresh.  Sure it took some time to earn a moniker, but sometimes things just need to grow into what they are going to be before they can be named.

We aren’t the only ones to have named a tent.  Notable tents owned by friends include Dark Carnival and the Taj Mahammer.  And yes, they get referred to by name on a regular basis.  If something has developed enough of a personality, it deserves a name.

Cars get names too.  Over the years I have owned and named the following:  The Rusty Turtle, Peri, The Think Tank, GEOrge, Grape Balls of Fire, The Vanilla Bean, and Imminent Darkness.**  My husband’s truck is commonly known as Big Red, even though it’s not really red.  We didn’t name it, but it stuck.  Funny, but most of the vehicles’ names refer to the color.  I hadn’t noticed the trend until now.  Also, I have owned a lot of cars.  Sheesh!

Baby name books have always been a weakness of mine, and my sister’s too.  One can’t have as many children as there are awesome names so it makes naming pets fun.  My personal pet naming convention is to use names I love but would never burden a child with.  Past pets have been named Isis, Crispin Seamus, Beckett, Eleanor Roosevelt, and Sasha Octavia.  My pets are so cool, they should have worn bow ties and a fez.  As a matter of fact, my sister’s dog does wear a bow tie.  I must get Elliot a fez.  Fezzes are cool.

What I’m trying to get around to saying (my kids hate my long lead-in stories) is that I have named the new violin.  The loaner violin and bow were named Mortimer and Scratch.  I don’t know where Morty got his name, it just showed up one day.  It suits him in a clerkish sort of way.

Don’t ask me how I know what gender a violin is.  You don’t get to decide.  They tell you.

The new violin is named Anneliese.  I liked it because it’s old, dignified, and German.  The name means “grace”, which is what I would like to be said about my playing one day.  Plus there’s a famous case of a woman with the name who was allegedly possessed by demons, sort of how I play now.  Ha ha!  It fits.  The bow is Alfred, after its maker.  So here they are, Anneliese and Alfred:

Image

Yes, I know I’m weird.  Embrace your weirdness, I say.  If you’re boring, nobody will ever remember your name.

**(1977 AMC Pacer X) (1984? Pontiac T1000) (1977 Plymouth Volare station wagon) (1990 Geo Metro) (1999 Plymouth Neon) (2003 Dodge Grand Caravan) (2012 VW Jetta TDI)

4 thoughts on “The Naming Convention

  1. OMG, I name things, too! My spinning wheels and Golding spindles all have names (Merriweather, Ford Prefect, Rosette, Remington, and Briar Rose), my car’s name is Mickey (after Mickey Smith on Doctor Who), I had Fred the Fern until he dried out and now there’s Maurice Moss in his place, and I even named one of my huge handbags Oscar. Naming things is so much fun! And definitely more interesting than just saying “that one, over there, that’s mine.”

  2. I named a previous car “Gwen” (she was a 92 white Honda hatchback). And I named my harp “Lirithlaen”. Names haven’t come to my other cars or to my violin — but it could be I haven’t been listening enough.

    (and I found out that my daughter has named some of her clothing. A recent shirt was just named “Evangeline”)

Leave a Reply

