Violin Shopping

My instructor nearly had me talked into that trade-in violin.  It does sound better than what I am currently playing, but I did some research on it and it didn’t come up as a promising suspect.  The accompanying bow was worth half as much as the violin, which is probably one of the reasons I decided to say yes despite my misgivings.

So today, I arranged to meet my Luthier at my instructor’s house.  We meet rarely because he moved his shop 2 hours away.  Upon examining the violin, he declared that it needed several days worth of work before he was willing to sell it.  This is one of the things I respect about him.  He truly takes his job seriously.

We got to talking and he mentioned that he suspected that this violin was not ideal for me.  My instructor didn’t seem too pleased, but I was.  My Luthier gets me.  Since the Sheng Liu he is selling is very much lower end, and needs some work, he offered to come back next week with a selection of instruments to compare it to.  And because I’m only buying the violin, and not the bow and case, I can spend more money on the instrument itself.  He said he might have a Klier and a Doetsch, as well as something else I might like better.

I confess to being a bit of a snob where violins are concerned.  A nice vintage German violin sounds way more up my alley than a newish Korean instrument any day.  It seems Sheng Liu makes a nice cello, but the violin reviews were a bit soft.  Not that this is a bad instrument, but I’m not in love.

So next week, this time, I will be the proud owner of a new-to-me violin.  It’s exciting, and scary at the same time.  It is going to be difficult to wait another whole week before I play my very own instrument.

Leave a Reply

