It’s an Artist Thing

I am finally caught up on season 3 of Downton Abbey.  I’m sure it’s no surprise to all of you that I am watching it.  You know how I love a costume drama.

I was pretty far behind though, so I locked myself in the treehouse during the Superbowl and watched the entire season at one go.  The bonus is that the sewing room is now tidied up.  All I have to do is figure out what I’m going to make next.  There is a list.  Unfortunately, I really don’t want to make anything on the list.  I’d rather be embroidering, or knitting, or gosh – just about anything else at this point.

I went to the Arts and Sciences Festival in Jamestown, NC this past weekend and had a blast.  I was called on to judge a couple of entries, and was able to celebrate with friends who had wonderful showings.  My travel companions were an absolute blast.  I look forward to future trips with them.  It was nice to get away for a short time.

I’m so in the mood to make something, but I don’t know what it is.  Last week I went crazy making bread and gained a pound for my trouble.  I’d like to do some glasswork, but my studio is still in durance vile back in Hampton.  We won’t talk about why it isn’t set up here yet because it makes me angry.  Embroidery sounds wonderful, but then I feel guilty for wanting to work on that when there is so much other stuff that really needs to be done.

I either feel guilty for doing it, or for not doing it.  #OMGfail

Of course the obvious solution is to work on the project that needs to be done, but it isn’t interesting enough to keep me motivated.  Or, I’m not motivated enough to generate the interest.  Either way, nothing is getting done.  I think I’m simply not motivated to make clothes while I am still this size.  But I’ve been this size on and off (mostly on) for the past 10 years, so I might as well swallow my expectations and do it.

 

One thought on “It’s an Artist Thing

Leave a Reply

