Reversing Inertia

Apparently whining on my blog created a sense of responsibility to do something about what I feel are personal failings. For the last couple of days I’ve been eating slightly better. It hasn’t been great. These are the holidays after all.

I’ve done a bit more exercise, including a quickie run on Christmas Eve with my oldest boy. It felt good to get out there and the endorphin push helped nudge me a bit further out of my rut. Not only are my muscles waking up, it feels like I’m nudging my brain awake too.

There’s no routine, and I’m still messing up a lot. But it does feel better to be doing at least something. Small things may not make a physical difference; but my attitude is turning around, and that’s a wonderful change. Today I even did my hair and makeup for work. My coworkers must be wondering if I’m looking for a job or something.

Am I going to lose 50 pounds with just a few small changes? Nope. I do think every little bit helps though. Maybe small things will add up to big things over time. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I can build up some momentum.

5 thoughts on “Reversing Inertia

  1. One step at a time, Kitty. I still haven’t lost a lot of my weight, but I feel better after having committed to ride every Tuesday/Thursday after work. I’ve only not ridden for a few mechanical issues and a couple of rain outs. If I knock down about 70 miles in the next week, I’ll hit 3000 for the year (hmm… why aren’t I dropping weight?).

    You’ve made a decision to do right by yourself – that’s the first step. Keep it up, I’m with you.

    Scott/Erlich

  2. What a great picture! It really says a lot, especially for myself that falls off the exercise train here and there. You just have to pick yourself up and go. Doing something is better than nothing!

  3. Reblogged this on Road to Active and commented:
    Hi Readers! First off, thanks SO much for reading my blog and also to those who are following my blog. I can’t take the credit for every post, such as this one, but my goal is to make content relevant to both me and you!

    Seeing this picture with the quote, ” You don’t have to be great to start, but your have to start to be great,” will hopefully motivate those of us who have fallen off the exercise train from time to time.

Leave a Reply

