Lessons in Beginning

Yesterday’s violin lesson involved actually putting bow to strings. And guess what? It sounds soooooo muuuuuuch better than when I was doing it on my own. I knew that learning off the internet was a bad idea, but now I know why. There’s just so much that you can’t tell from a video.

So far, I was holding the bow wrong, tensing up, raising my shoulder, and using too much pressure on the strings. Once all those things were corrected, the violin made such a sweet sound that I almost cried, even if it was only one just one note.

Source: mi9.com via Krista on Pinterest

So it appears that I am on my way to being a violinist. I’m so glad I didn’t decide to let my age prevent me from pursuing it. One day, I hope that I will be able to play in front of my friends without embarrassment.

Leave a Reply

