Out of Running Retirement.

I felt so bad spending money on a race that I didn’t run because I failed to train for it. Fortunately, my runner girl friends, Karen and Kara were kind enough to take on the responsibility of at least picking up my packet. I’m still going to wear the T-shirt, even though I didn’t run. I don’t know if that makes me a jerk. Next time, I’m not going to sign up for a race until I have a training plan firmly in place, and I’m not going to sign on unless I know I’m prepared to make the commitment.

I haven’t run in nearly three months. My friend, Kim, ran the Instant Classic Half Marathon yesterday – her first. At least one of us followed through with training over the winter. I’m very proud of her.

Another friend, Christine is training for her first 10K. She was going to walk it, but decided to try running, and now she’s hooked. Today, Kim, Christine, and I went for a 5 mile run. I’m impressed, that Kim was willing to tackle a recovery run so soon after her half. It was Christine’s first stab at that distance, and my first run coming off my unplanned running break.

Although it was much warmer than any of us were ready for, it was so lovely running with those ladies. We have known each other a long time, and that helped us get through the heat and the hills. I had a wonderful time, but my feet are not too happy with me. My insoles caused some blistering in my arches. Maybe I need to wear the Balegas with these shoes and not the Experias. I might look at the Brooks for my next pair of running shoes. The blisters have been happening more often with the Asics.

After the run, Christine and I daydreamed about races we would like to run. We may have to try a destination race one day. There are some really interesting options out there. I’m going to work on speed training for up to 5 mile distances until after the Corporate 4 Miler in June, and decide if I’m going to do the Richmond Half afterwards. I don’t know if I’m willing to give up that many Saturdays for training again. We’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Out of Running Retirement.

Leave a Reply

