Violin

A friend of mine read how I recently terminated the rental agreement on the violin and asked me why I had given it up. Once I explained the situation he asked if it was still something I wanted to do, and when I answered in the affirmative, offered me the loan of a spare!

So I’m back in business and I’ve decided to be more methodical in my learning process. Rather than skip ahead to learning new pieces, I’ve gone back to the basics and am practicing the bow hold and bow exercises on open strings. Then I’ll work on finger placement and reading dynamic notation. It’s not the same as having a real teacher, but I’m doing the best I can with what I can find on YouTube, which is surprisingly rich with violin primer videos.

I’m finding that my hands and fingers are not as strong or as flexible as they need to be, but I’m working on it and they will get better.

2 thoughts on “Violin

  1. I have a violin/fiddle down in my basement that I want to get functional because I have always wanted to give it a try. I wish I knew how to start (aside from getting its bows restrung).

Leave a Reply

