Grinching

I feel ugly on the inside – the equivalent of a dirty dishrag. It has been coming on for a while now, but I’m all grimy and wrung-out in my brain meats. The worst part is that I know the steps I can take to get back to the shiny side and I simply can’t seem to find the giddyup to start.

I know I left those bootstraps around here someplace…..

In other news, I finally decided to get a library card. I’ve been putting it off because I have a bad habit of procrastinating returning books until I’ve racked up hefty fines. I’m so bad, at my last job my office was above the library, and I STILL managed to return items late, even though they had never left the building. Captain Procrastination – that’s me. But reality hit when I balanced the checkbook and realized that I’ve been averaging $20-$30 in Kindle book fees every month for the last several months. Library book fines are a hell of a lot cheaper, and I can rent Kindle books from this library. Woot and yay!

I have also returned my rental violin. It makes me sad, but it’s not as if I’m ever going to be a virtuoso. Maybe one day I will win the lottery and do it right, with lessons and everything. At least now I can play Amazing Grace, Jingle Bells, and Greensleeves. Not too shabby for self-taught, right? Returning the violin saves me another $35/mo. I lose the ability to apply it to the purchase of a violin, but I’d rather have the cash since it looks like the federally mandated payroll tax break is going to go away at the end of the month. Two percent doesn’t sound like a lot, but it does have an impact on the bottom line. I’ll be losing about a hundred dollars a month to taxes. Don’t get me started on bloated government-funded programs.

Holiday knitting has gone off splendidly. One early recipient was suitably pleased by my offering (purple fingerless mitts, if you must know). I wish I had time for more, but with three days left until the holiday, I don’t dare start something else. We pared way down on giving this year. Hopefully our friends and family will understand that we would give more if we could. It has been a tough year for lots of people so I think that most of them are in the same boat anyway.

Now all I have to do is get into the proper frame of mind to enjoy the remainder of the season. Maybe I’ll try some meditational deep breathing. In with the joy…. Out with the Grinch…. Ohmmmmmmm!

One thought on “Grinching

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

