And for my next trick…..

Two posts in two days. Can you stand it?

Folks have been asking me why I am obsessing about what to work on after the race when it’s still 24 days away. “Why don’t you take a break?” and “Run easy for a while until you feel like racing again.” are two common themes. Here’s the thing. Last time I trained this long for a race, I took that advice and you know what happened? Nothing. Exactly nothing happened. As in, I didn’t run again for nearly 2 years.

I don’t want that to happen again. You know how you finish a big thing (college, hosting an event, getting ready for the holidays) and you suddenly have too much time on your hands? That’s what I’m afraid of. I’m afraid that I’ll go back to laying around in the easy chair watching reruns on HGTV and ordering Dominos pizza. I’ll lose sight of my fitness goals and start gaining weight again.

Face it, I am not comfortable at this weight. I don’t feel good about it. Plus, losing weight will help me stay injury-free. Therefore, I need to maintain a focus on fitness. For that, I need a plan. It makes my Listy McListmaker self all happy and stuff. Plans and lists go hand in hand and make me feel like I’m accomplishing something.

That’s me, waving my arms with a sense of accomplishment approximately 8 miles into Saturday’s 10 miler. Running buddies Pam Drew (in blue) and Jannalyn (in lavender) alongside, keeping it real, yo! (Picture taken by Charles Schuessler.)

So I’ve tentatively decided to make a bet with myself and try to lose 10 pounds between November 14 and January 16. Yes, yes, I realize it’s the eating season. I’m hoping that I can overcome all that. I haven’t been a healthy weight in over a decade. Losing 10 pounds will get me a third of the way there. Now all I have to do is develop a plan to make it happen. Twenty four days should give me plenty of time to work out the details. You know, make lists and stuff.

I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “And for my next trick…..

  1. I completely understand about needing another goal. It’s exactly that reason why I came home from Warrior Dash and had signed up for a new race 2 days later. Good luck! I know you can do it.

Leave a Reply

