The sweet stink of success.

For the last few days I’ve been riding on a high from my sweet little chair revamp success. I managed to channel the excess energy into getting the craft room into shape. It has been a dumping ground since we moved in for everything that used to live in the attic and ever since Moe’s last garage clean-out it has been filled 4 feet high, from wall to wall with boxes, with a narrow path to the sewing machine and the ironing board.

The sad thing is that I have actually sewn a couple of dresses for people with the room in that horrible state. Last Friday, I even invited my good friend Sharon to hang out in there with me while I did some quick seaming on her daughter’s outfit. Of course, that just proves how good a friend she is. Especially since she didn’t mock me about it to my face at all.

Awesome. No, really. She’s awesome.

Now, the room is in no great shape now, but I’ve eliminated a bunch of boxes and a rubbermaid tote. It’s amazing the things I am discovering though. It just goes to show that once something goes into the attic, you’ll probably never need it again as I’m eliminating most of what we had stored up there. Goodwill is gonna love me!

I’d like to find a way to store all of the little sewing notions I’m running across. My original idea was to use some pretty baskets and tuck them into a storage cubby thing like this:

After some careful thought though, as much as I like the pretty container idea, I might need to get some utilitarian plastic storage boxes to corral the stuff instead. Of course, they might tuck into the pretty containers so I might not have to give them up after all.

Now that I’m about halfway through I want to do a little project, just to keep up the sewing momentum. There’s any number of things to mend, but I want to make something pretty. I’m sort of stuck on the idea of doing pincushions. Maybe something like this:

Source: bhg.com via Krista on Pinterest

Or I could cover my chair. It really needs it because my kids have gotten stains all over it. And doesn’t this look adorable?

Whatever I come up with, I’ll share with you all later.

Do any of you have a project you are working on that you want to share? Who is stuck trying to carve out space in your house to do your projects? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

2 thoughts on “The sweet stink of success.

  1. I’m trying to decide if I will be turning those 8yds of copper taffeta (or whatever it is) you gave me into a cote for Coronation. And you’ve been to my house….I used to have a huge space just for projects and sewing, but….now I am literally all over the house and the garage. 🙂

    1. No matter what you decide to wear will be gorgeous. And I feel you on losing your work space. I lost mine when Chris was born. I’m so happy to have it back!

Leave a Reply

