It’s been a long 2 weeks

Boy, time sure flies when you’re busy. I had this great post all planned out about how marathon training is going and how excited I am to be working in a new pair of shoes and all last week. Unfortunately, as things tend to do, higher priorities came in to play.

Our beloved german shepard dog had been wheezing for a couple of weeks. She has allergies, so it didn’t seem like a big deal. But when the poor appetite and accidents started, we decided a trip to the vet was in order.

Sadly, sweet Sasha was diagnosed with advanced K-9 lymphoma which had metastasized throughout her system. The vet drained nearly 2 liters of fluid off her lungs, which helped her breathing; and gave her some meds to slow the disease and help her appetite. Unfortunately, the dog was beyond the help of pills and we had to make the heartbreaking decision to put her to sleep only two days later when her organs began to shut down.

The house is eerily quiet without our sweet dogbell. I miss having her greet me at the door and her affectionate way of flopping at my feet. It will get better, but in the meantime I still look for her at random times and odd noises will make me think she’s just around the corner.

Good night, Sasha Octavia. Mommy misses you.

2 thoughts on “It’s been a long 2 weeks

  1. I’m so sorry. I was just looking at pictures of yellow and blue rooms and I stumbled on your blog and read a few posts.

    My heart goes out to you and your family. Best wishes and no regrets for a life well lived to you all!

    Sarah (who has an 18 year old cat!)

Leave a Reply

