I didn’t know pastry could move like that

Not sure if I mentioned it here, but I signed up to run a 4 miler in June. I didn’t think it would be a big deal at the time because I had 7 weeks to train. Well, I’m down to four. Gah!

Ok. No big deal, right? Sure I haven’t done much running in the last two years, but I can’t be that out of shape.

Sure I can.

How humbling is it that after all the training I did, I am having to start again from scratch, week 1-day one? My wind is definitely not where it was. That first 60 second interval was a bit of a shock, but it got better after that. At the end my knee reminded me that I am 40 pounds overweight and have recently neglected my strength training but it’s all good.

I figure I can compress the program a bit once my wind starts to recover and still run the whole 4 miles. Hopefully, if I make some dietary changes I can shed 5 pounds before the race too so I look slightly less like the Pillsbury dough boy running from the scene of a crime.

In completely unrelated news I’m beyond pleased that the peony that I dug up from the Hampton house and plopped in a pot last year managed to bloom this year. Yay!

Leave a Reply

