To refurbish, or replace?

There are tons of projects I should be doing – like making things for Sapphire or sewing buttons back on Moe’s trousers and whatnot. But what I’m really in the mood for is doing something new. For example, refurbishing that chair in the previous post, or putting a new cushion on the big hope chest, or making roman shades for the third floor windows.

Here’s the weird thing. I’m not into getting dirty, but I can’t seem to get the idea of refurbishing furniture out of my head. I mean, it’s as if it’s something I have to do, which is sort of freaking me out because I hate sanding and staining and fixing things.

I blame it on the design blogs. I’ve been reading them like crazy trying to get ideas for decorating the house. I’m tired of being surrounded by garage sale chic. The thing is, refinishing old stuff is the new green and bloggers are on it like white on rice.

Bloggers are preaching to the masses about how hip and totally awesome it is. I am so not hip. Oh well, it’s too late to do anything more tonight. I’m going to go back to adding stuff to my wall on Pinterest http://pinterest.com/isenglass/pins/ Talk about addictive!

Leave a Reply

