Back in designer mode

I don’t remember where I got this picture. It makes me sad because I want to credit the photographer so if anyone knows, please tell me. At any rate, I don’t know if I posted this before, but this photo is the color inspiration for my craft room (code name treehouse).

The color combination makes me so happy. It feels fresh and youthful and not terribly overpowering while still offering pops of my favorite fun colors.

I’ve been thinking about the treehouse a lot because summer is coming up and I hope to spend a lot of quality time creating. I’ve finally gotten to a place in my life that doesn’t feel so stressful.

Current plans underway include recovering this green chair with the flocked linen that is on the seat:

I don’t know how to reupholster something like this, but I figure I can make a darn nice slipcover with black welting and a black velveteen kidney pillow. The chair is special to me because it came from the hotel where Moe and I had our wedding reception. We’re just not so much into the green. That snickering you hear is everyone who has ever been in our house because for some reason all of our family room chairs are forest green. It was coincidental, I swear!

I’m also trying to style the family room. This big mirror has been bouncing around the house for five years or so and I’ve never found a place for it.

Ignore the little boy sock. Obviously I did. LOL! And clearly I forgot to edit the photo. My bad.

The mirror needs some tall accessories on either side. I think I will haunt goodwill and Marshalls for some tall, colorful glass vases or sculpture.

Recently, my good friend Sharon stopped by with her mom and sisters, one of whom is an interior designer. She gave me a lot of really good advice about how to mix furniture styles and how to train my eye. I learned a lot and am enjoying the discovery process.

One thought on “Back in designer mode

Leave a Reply

