E I E I Oh Boy

Apparently I am a terrible farmer. Trip’s giant cabbage plant is doing great, but my two tomato plants are crispy fried. I’m not sure what happened to them. I have been watering them every day and they looked fine this morning.

Moe thinks that since I only water at the base of the plant, the surrounding ground is leaching the essential moisture away from the roots. My feeling is that the aged manure might not be as aged as I thought and the plants burned.

Of course, it was brutally windy a couple of days this week and it’s just possible that even though the plants looked just fine this morning, that the wind finally took its toll when combined with today’s fine sunshine.

At any rate, I think I’m just going to replace them. They were cheapies from Home Depot to start with and I have to go get some potting soil anyway so it’s nothing to grab a few more.

This weekend I am aiming to get the seeds in the ground. I’ve got a nice little mix of cutting flowers for me and fast growing veggies for the kids. It may not be the best little garden plot around, but it’s mine.

In the mean time I’m trying to make a path through the garage so Moe can get to the lawnmower and the landscaper can get to the irrigation system. I made a big dent in the garage boxes today towards that end.

Tonight, I’m working on my Faire Isle tam. Love the color work!

2 thoughts on “E I E I Oh Boy

  1. I bet it’s the wind and actually some of the cold overnights. My brother’s tomato plants bit the dust too this week so we’re starting over this weekend.

    I am all for a little plot to call one’s own!

  2. I think a lot has to do with the very chilly weather we have had; Mother Nature needs to even her meds out. It is too hard on stuff like tomatoes to go from 80 degrees one day to 50 degrees the next. I am holding off for another week or so to plant tomatoes. Probably Easter weekend, even though April 15th is Last Frost Date. Speaking of the 15th, happy early birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

