Color my Treehouse!

As the day I close on our new house approaches, I find myself getting excited about moving in and actually living in the space. It still feels like a dream, but all we are missing now is flooring, light fixtures and a driveway. Two weeks and counting!

One of the most exciting aspects of the move is knowing I can get my workbench and tools out of storage. It has been so hard not having any outlet for my glasswork over the past eight months. I have missed my kiln so much!!! I’m a little worried that I didn’t save much glass when we packed. I probably only have 200 pounds, which isn’t really a lot when you figure that most of that is in small sheets. Worse comes to worse, I know I have lots of rods and fuel for the torch is pretty low cost. It never hurts to practice off-hand skills.

One of the other things I am super happy about is the fifth bedroom which is going to be my sewing/craft room. It’s on the third floor and looking out the window makes me feel like I am in a treehouse.
The Treehouse

I can’t wait to paint this room. Of course the entire house is painted contractor cream, but I’ve been planning colors since the day I signed the contract. Right now I’m dithering between a soft spring green on the walls and a light blue on the ceiling like this one from http://www.younghouselove.com/2010/01/nursery-progress-painting-the-walls-ceiling/:

But since this will be the only “girls only” space, I’ve played around with warm, pale pink walls like this one from Martha Stewart http://www.marthastewart.com/photogallery/pink-rooms#slide_7:

I love the delicate pink walls with the taupe woodwork. I’d be hard pressed to decide between the taupe and cream.

I’d love opinions. What colors should I paint my treehouse?

One thought on “Color my Treehouse!

  1. What about spring green and pink? I would go with a slightly “grayer” green than the one in that top picture (a little sagey green) and that antique-ish pink in the Martha photo, and you have a pretty, feminine room that evokes early spring. In my mind, I see white sheers over the window, and sort of distressed, cream colored antique-ish furnishings.

Leave a Reply

