Socks for Moe

I’ve been promising my husband something knitted ever since I started knitting again in 2009. He really wants socks but his size 12 E feet are so much bigger than my size sixes that I have sort of avoided it. I’ve knitted things for pretty much everyone else in my family, including both of our mothers, and one of my sisters. I’ve even knitted for the kids’ teachers. Poor Moe, always putting up with my knitting, but never getting the benefit.

I joined a group on Ravelry that is for knitting one Christmas gift a month in 2011, but I’ve adapted it to fit my own personal Christmas IOU list and refer to it in my head as the “promise keeper’s challenge”. This month my promise to keep is Moe’s socks. I chose a pattern called Masonic Lodge because he is Past Master of Yorktown VA 205. He picked the color from my stash – Lorna’s Laces Nightmare’s Night Out.
Moe's socks

When he picked out the yarn, he told me he has always wanted a pair of red socks. Apparently, it’s a Royal Arch thing. I may have to make a second pair in electric blue just so I can call them MaSONIC socks. Hee!

One thought on “Socks for Moe

Leave a Reply

